SDS 01294 475685/6
Payroll 01294 475681
SDS 01294 475685/6 / Payroll 01294 475681 / Email
RELIEF SUPPORT WORKER – VSMaybole/1 21/06/2018 private employer Maybole

RELIEF SUPPORT WORKER – VSMaybole/1

 

(looking to employ someone for between 3 and 6 hours a week averaged over 3 months. Hours will be agreed between the P.A and myself dependent on need and availability. I cannot guarantee work every week. Some of the work may be on a Monday evening. There will be opportunities for the occasional 4 hour sessions during the day in the school holiday)

 

The hourly rate is:  £8.75

 

This young man is 17 year old and has severe learning difficulties and autism.  He is active, mischievous and often sociable. He lives at home with his brother, mother and the family dog. He loves watching DVDs, dancing to music and outdoors activities – going to the park, walks on the beach, swimming and going shopping. He understands a lot of what is said to and about him. He does however need a lot of help with communication as he finds talking difficult. He uses Makaton and symbols, the Sonoflex and Pictello apps in his iPAD and whole body communication. Training and support will be provided with this. He needs help to change from one activity to another – lots of notice and he likes to know what is happening next. It is important to recognize that the care you will be employed largely within the family home, therefore confidentiality and respect for the family’s privacy and daily routine is of the utmost importance.

 

The service users brother, (15) will generally be at home while you are looking after the service user. His brother will be responsible for himself and you would only be expected to assist him in an emergency.

 

The support you will provide to do will vary but will involve the following:

 

PERSONAL TASKS

 

  • Helping him make choices and manage his time
  • Helping him make a transition between one activity and another by giving him notice and counting down
  •  Encouraging him to be as independent as possible in all daily tasks
  • Assistance with eating, drinking where needed e.g – cutting up his food hand over hand, ensuring he does not put too much in his mouth causing risk of choking
  • Keeping the kitchen clean and tidy
  • Help ensure his dietary requirements are met (he has coeliacs disease and must not eat wheat or gluten or food contaminated by gluten)

 

  • Assistance/ Reminding him to take my medication
  • Help with showering, bathing, drying himself
  • Assistance with nail care, oral hygiene
  • Assistance with shaving
  • Assistance with foot care
  • Assistance washing, drying hair
  • Help with undressing and dressing

 

 

SOCIAL ACTIVITIES / OUTINGS:

 

  • Using public transport
  • Going to the shops
  • Ordering food that is gluten free to eat while out and about
  • Going swimming
  • Going to the Cinema/Theatre
  • Meeting Friends/Family
  • Assisting with Leisure Activities
  • Going for a walk

 

The job description is set around the service users needs and both the hours and the job description may change in the future depending on his support needs.

 

*There will be opportunities for further work on other days/evenings to be arranged, including the occasional 4 hour sessions during the day in the school holidays.

 

Successful applicant will have to supply 2 up to date Reference contacts, one must be from a present or previous employer and a undergo a new or update of the PVG disclosure scheme, prior to appointment (disclosure cost to be met by the employer)

 

There is a 6 month trial period attached to this post

 

If interested please email your up to date CV to –  victoria@ailn.org or phone 01294 475694 and quote ref VSMaybole/1

**** Please note AILN are not the employers****

 

Go back